Latest News

Katherine Young Territory Author Award Announced

posted 12-Sep-2018

Yesterday Olivia Russel was presented with the Katherine Young Territory Author Award at the Katherine Public Library. The Young Territory Author Awards are an annual writing competition where entrants write and produce their own book. The Awards aim to inspire children and young people in the NT to explore their ideas and turn them into stories.

Olivia won the Regional Award for her book The Messy Dog.

“I was inspired by creative writing and art,” said Olivia, who created all the photos used in her book on her iPad.

15 people came along to see the presentation, that included special guests the Mayor of Katherine Town Council, Ms Fay Miller, Elected Member, Ms Elisabeth Clarke and Ms Claire Johansson, Chief Operating Officer, Katherine Town Council.

“It was great to see a creative young mind with a beautifully illustrated story,” said The Mayor, Ms Fay Miller.

The competition is open to all Territorians 18 years and under, and is organised in association with other public libraries and schools throughout the Northern Territory.

All Katherine entries will be made available at Katherine Public Library to view and borrow for one (1) month.

The following Young Territory Author Award Winners have been announced for 2018:

Young Territory Author of the Year - Tiger-Lily Clements for Anathema

School Entry Winner - Berry Springs Primary School Moth Mob for The Very Hungry Atlas Moth Caterpillar

Regional Awards
Darwin Winner - Alice Cotter for A Creamy, Sandy, Peachy, Band-Aid Kind of Colour
Palmerston Winner - Kiara Thompson for The Lost Soul
Litchfield Winner - Lily Purdon for Asbaik Island
Katherine Winner - Olivia Russel for The Messy Dog
Alice Springs Winner - Fynn Henderson for The Kidnapping

8 years and under 
Winner - Jana Anne de Klerk for Shoal Bay With No Fish
Highly Commended - Olivia Russel for The Messy Dog
Encouragement Award - Noah Stoeckl for A Meerkat Adventure

9 to 12 years
Winner - Lacey O'Brien for Boys Don't Sing
Highly Commended - Pryha Allen-Bell for The Gargoyle That Winked
Encouragement Award - Jack Flanagan for The Lost Planet
Encouragement Award - Kiara Thompson for illustrating The Lost Planet

13 to 15 years
Winner - Elisha Petit for Perception
Highly Commended - Lucas Tester for The Battle of Menin Road Ridge
Encouragement Award - Tennille Bulters for Stuck in the Shop!

16 to 18 years
Winner - Chloe Davis for Royalty
Highly Commended - Thomas Lambert for A Small Bar in a Big World
Encouragement Award - Ainul Nadjamuddin for Regret

Congratulations to all our winners and to all of our amazing authors who entered this year's Awards.

The books will be made available at Casuarina Library for the public to view and borrow. 

The Young Territory Author Awards will be back in 2019.